I’ve Arrived

P1050783 P1050781 P1050793 P1050784 P1050778

After much anticipation I have finally arrived in Cyprus. The days are definitely warmer than the temperature I left behind in England but the nights take some adapting to as the house was so very cold after being unoccupied for several months. The floors particularly are like walking on icebergs and of course no cosy fitted carpets to take off the chill! I’m staying in Arodhes which is up the hills of the Akamas, it’s all looking very green and the cyclamen are in flower all over my cousin’s garden who lives further down where it is a few degrees warmer, so pretty.

I had a few dramas on the journey, as the taxi which took me to the airport passed the end of my road where I had parked the car for the duration, I saw the cover which I had  put on the day before had blown off so a call to my neighbour was in order to ask if she could gather it up and store it for me. The airport part went smoothly enough and the flight was very comfortable as unusually there were only 30 passengers on board so we could spread out.  Arriving in very good time after landing I paid the loos a visit en route to the carousel for the baggage where I found everyone had gone already and only four bags were left. It is always a relief when you see your bags have arrived in one piece or at least two of them,  my third case wasn’t there. Instead there was a case similar but clearly not mine, cursing quietly to myself I asked at the BA desk and they gathered up the other case to check the label and contacted the owner who was half way up the motorway blithely on their way home. Luckily they returned the case safe and sound after only 30 minutes and I considered myself very fortunate to have it returned so quickly.

The car hire exchange was all very helpful and efficient and I made good time on the motorway from Larnaca to Polis where I stopped to get a few essentials from the small supermarket which I knew would be open. I had been to Arodhes before and in the daytime so was a little bit apprehensive as now it was dark, going the route I thought I had travelled before I promptly got very lost and seemed to be on a very rutted dirt road going to the back of beyond. Very gingerly I turned the car round and went around in circles a few times all roads lead to Paphos it seemed but none to Arodhes. By this time it was getting late and I had been up since 5.30m so was a bit frayed round the edges and on the point of giving up and going back to Polis to stay at my brother’s house. I persevered and I eventually worked out my way to get here a bit travel weary and hungry but in one piece. But the cold house did feel a bit of a shock and as it was a house I had only visited once before I had to familiarise myself with getting out bedlinen and making the bed. I knew there would be an electric blanket but I couldn’t seem to make that work so it took several hours to get the bed warm. Laying there in the middle of the night I wondered what had I done? The house is an oldish stone building with an outside staircase which also takes a bit of getting used to and of course everything is geared to hot weather and keeping cool and not so friendly in the winter months.

The day dawned and of course the sun came out and beautiful it was to see the surrounding countryside. After a couple of days the house is getting warmer after getting the heating organised. This evening I lit a fire in the open grate and got a good blaze going which should get some heat back into the place. I managed to work out the electric blanket and it was bliss last night.

Today I have been visiting and my first stop was to see my friend Elena Savvides of Orexi fame, the time just flew by as we caught up and started discussing plans for  visiting a few places together. Elena is my guru when it comes to sourcing good food. Next stop was my cousin Nicos in Goudi for lunch and I thought I would take the short cut across the top of the hills down to the main road via a village called Kritou Terra. Here was another little adventure as so often happens to me in Cyprus. I took a wrong turn in the village and ended up, after a very windy road and a bad encounter with a large stone in the middle of the track, in the middle of a field. OOps. Another seven point turn was in order to re-trace my steps and find the right road equally as windy but better made and beautiful views. Not really a short cut in the end and I arrived a bit later than expected.

My cousin is rotivating his large garden to make ready for planting all kinds of vegetables so of course I had to take some photos of him on his tractor. Every day a new adventure awaits. Tomorrow I’m off to Paphos and visiting another friend but that road is more familiar, ahh famous last words.

6 thoughts on “I’ve Arrived

  1. Hahaha! Had to laugh as I remember only too well how a seemingly insignificant ‘wrong turn’ can end up becoming quite an adventure. Remind me to tell you when you get back about when Mr C and I went out for a “quiet” Sunday drive around the Akamas Forest when I was 39 weeks pregnant…….. Glad you are settling in OK now though, looking forward to the next installment. xx

Leave a Reply

