Whiskey and Walks

 20141130_135320

20141130_134559

20141130_134703

Last week I went to see my good friend Rosemary Moon who is a food writer of long-standing and founder of our Community Garden in Tangmere. She has a new website  http://www.rosemarymoon.com/ on which she shares her passions of food and whiskey. Using her name to great punning effect the headings are Moonbites and Moonshine. Unfortunately as I was due to drive somewhere after my visit I couldn’t take her up on a very tempting offer of a wee dram while I was there; well before the sun was anywhere near the yardarm I might add. Lately she has been exploring her love of whiskey and combining it with food to see how the one compliments the other. There is a great podcast here on her site,http://www.rosemarymoon.com/moonbeams/where she meets a smokery owner in Scotland and discusses which whiskeys would bring out the flavours of certain of their products at Rannochs smokery. This podcast idea is a new venture for Rosemary, great page title is Moonbeams, cool huh? While I was there she took the opportunity to do another one with me all about ‘Androula’s Kitchen’ and we chatted away for half an hour.This will be coming soon on Moonbeams. I hope to emulate her and get a couple of podcast productions under my belt when in Cyprus visiting a variety of growers and producers of all kinds of stuff. She asked me if whiskey is widely drunk in Cyprus and I mentioned that actually brandy seems to be more prominent as of course Cyprus produces its own. I was about to embark on the story of how the Brandy Sour, Cyprus’ very own cocktail, was first created  but we ran out of time. On my visit to Forest Park last year however, Mr Eraclis entertained us with the story. A young King Farouk, fond of western ways and cocktails while a guest at the hotel ,which he was frequently, was wanting a thirst quenching drink and  the very imaginative  bartender created this cocktail to help the King enjoy his tipple, quench his thirst and all the while seemingly appear to be abstemious. Here Helen Smeaton of Travel Secrets gives you the full recipe http://www.cyprus-travel-secrets.com/how-to-make-a-brandy-sour.html I must try one someday, I’m not a great lover of brandy myself, I do prefer a whiskey but I can imagine this could be very refreshing.

This weekend we were very lucky with the weather as the sun blessed us with its presence and shone on the righteous…. as well as us. So we made the most of it and went in search of a couple of local churches built in the 12th century as you do! They were both quite small and the first  in Tortington just outside Arundel, had some beautiful stone carving of the Romanesque period with unusual animal heads depicted. This church was once probably part of the priory that existed here. You can read all about it here http://www.sussexchurches.co.uk/tortington.htm SAC52-173 It was tucked away down a lane in an area I hadn’t explored before, I made a mental note to return one day and explore the footpaths signposted.

The second one was much plainer but the setting was fabulous as it was perched on the side of the Downs with a vista of the Sussex countryside at its best in array before us. I do love this time of year with its smells of damp leaves and the sight of golden foliage with the sun shining through makes me feel all mellow mists. I feel very lucky to live in this part of the country, the rolling chalk and flint Downs, fields of patchwork with ploughed patterns creating so many shades of sandy brown, unbelievably rich green grass with sheep grazing, dense patches of wood of oak and hazel, beach and chestnut. Then we have the coast nearby with another kind of breathtaking beauty and serenity.

P1050480

I am drinking in the beauty and lushness. I am surely looking forward to a complete contrast when I venture to Cyprus in February for a long spell. I will be pursuing these same past times of walks and looking at Romanesque churches in a different landscape.   I hope for many photo opportunities when the beauty of Cyprus will equally enthral and enchant.

2 thoughts on “Whiskey and Walks

  1. Enjoyed reading abut your adventures. I recognised the Downs landscape immediately, it could easily have been right near the hostel where I stayed in the South downs near Lewes.
    I’m reading Wild Places by Robert MacFarlane, a book you might also enjoy?

Leave a Reply

