Cyprus College of Art

A beautifully written blog about a short stay at Lemba summer school.

ANIMA RISING BLOG

23rd June, 2014.

I’ve been staying at the Cyprus College of Art for almost a week. I share my days and nights here with nine artists, fast becoming new friends. We are mostly lonesome travellers, shuffled up and backpacked, with stories to tell. I like that I’m not the only person making this journey alone.

The College was set up by the late Stass Paraskos in the Seventies – a wonderful man who has created a mad monument of mod-roc animals, mosaics, and colour popping sculpture. The place has a freedom about it that only comes with the absence of grades, exams, and extortionate fees. We have little agenda here – just a desk space, a shed to sleep in, and encouragement to create. Margaret, daughter of Stass, is now in charge, and her attitude is so impressively laid-back I should congratulate her.

I share my whitewashed shed with a…

View original post 417 more words

Leave a Reply

