Lucky Dip

 

P1040228

As it’s one of those rainy summer Saturdays, my plans have had to be slightly altered and instead of my trip down to the community garden I have been catching up on a few jobs at home. One of them was to do my weekly bread making; I was looking forward to having a few slices for my lunch with some lovely cheese I bought yesterday. I was getting hungry and the bread still had to bake and cool for half an hour so what to eat?

Last night I experimented a bit for my dinner. I grilled a herring and to accompany it I cooked leek and cabbage tossed in butter and seasoned with salt and pepper. I steamed some sliced potatoes with sliced carrots ;all the vegetables were from the garden. When they were cooked I tossed them in butter and olive oil, salt & pepper, a few capers and a dash of lime pickle sprinkled with chopped coriander leaves. I had some of this potato left over so I heated it up with a little olive oil in a skillet and added a few slices of apple until the potato had crispy edges and the apple was soft. I grilled a sausage, slicing it down the middle finishing it off by crisping it up with the potatoes.

Last Night I had reduced down some beefsteak tomatoes with garlic, salt & pepper so I put a few teaspoons of this on the bottom of the dish and placed the sausage and potato on top. I have to say this was tasty. I can’t show you a picture as I scoffed the lot sharpish as I was hungry but I can tell you it looked very pretty. The tomatoes were red and orange, the potato had golden edges speckled through with orange carrot and green coriander. I have been watching Celebrity Masterchef the last couple of weeks and I think it’s starting to affect me!!!

2 thoughts on “Lucky Dip

  1. Oh my goodness, this all sounds delicious! I doubt Celebrity Masterchef has done anything more than bring in focus what was obviously already there, a real cooking talent.
    Unfortunately our tomatoes all have turned brown this year, so disappointing for my husband’s first attempt at veg gardening. Other wise, I’d have loved to reduce them down as you had done.

    • Hi Sarah, thanks, it was tasty, I sometimes surprise myself. I have to be in the mood ‘though. I’m certainly no Nigella. CM has certainly got my imagination going and it introduces me to things like Lime pickle which I had never used before. Of course having all that produce on my doorstep especially the tomatoes is fantastic. But we do have a huge polytunnel. Tomatoes in our climate outside can be tricky. It’s all experience. Good luck next year.

Leave a Reply

