Encouragement

I just want to start by thanking those readers who have commented on my last post and sent me encouraging words. It is always nice to know that there are people out there actually reading my blog so thank you I really appreciate it.

When I wrote the last post I was suffering from very blocked sinuses  which seemed to have dogged me since my return from Cyprus. This of course caused me to feel a bit sorry for myself and consequently showed in my post; always a mistake to write when under the weather! But today I feel perkier and I have made some movement forward. Since my last post I have started to write a blog for a site called Cyprus News Report http://www.cyprusnewsreport.com and encouragingly my first post was rewarded with a gold star! This site targets the British expatriate community living in Cyprus and English-speaking Cypriots abroad and is run by a very talented lady called Sarah Fenwick who not only is a reporter but also a jazz singer http://www.sarahfenwick.com. She has lived in Cyprus some time and is part of a growing jazz and blues community there, check out her site and videos, if you like cool you’ll enjoy her singing.

English: Alexandra Palace, Muswell Hill, Londo...

English: Alexandra Palace, Muswell Hill, London. The image was taken with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ1. Category:Buildings and structures in Haringey (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve also been considering how to get involved in the Cyprus Wine Festival which is held in London at Alexandra Palace at the end of June. To take a stall is a bit beyond my budget at the moment and what would be much better is if I could team up with someone who is selling food and they agreed to sell the book along with their produce for a good percentage. The organisers of this long running festival, it is their 30th anniversary this year,  is The Parakiaki newspaper www.parikiaki.com/ a weekly newspaper printed in London for the Cypriot community in Britain. It has a small English section and they have kindly printed a few of my press releases, they are checking over the list of attendees to see if there is someone who may fit the bill.

 

Yesterday I also learned of a new site for artists and creatives to market themselves and their creations,  www.see.me, this was through a social marketing blog that I follow. It seemed pretty neat and free so I’ve created a profile and I’ll see if anything comes of it. The idea is that the community who register are all creatives or people who are like-minded, it has the option of acting as a platform whereby you can attract sponsors or customers or just a place to hang out. There is an option to upgrade which gives a lot more exposure and even this is a reasonable £40 or so a year. 

I’m also checking out some more Greek specific blogs that are written in English. So things are moving along even though it’s in fits and starts like a car on kangaroo petrol, it is actually moving.

P1030486

3 thoughts on “Encouragement

  1. you wrote: ‘always a mistake to write when under the weather! But today I feel perkier and I have made some movement forward.’

    Actually, to be honest, I quickly zone out on those perky blogs which only speak of successes and optimism. I need to know that other creative people go through the same ups and downs I do, how else do we learn?
    Keep being real, that’s why I read your blog.

    • Hi Sarah,
      ups and downs all part of the pattern, you can’t have one without the other, now that would be boring. They’ll have to be posts about both as that’s who I am, I just have to be careful I don’t get maudlin!

Leave a Reply

