Book Signing Event 9th April at Inga’s

My  trip to Cyprus is fast approaching and in the last few days I have now added a book signing event to my itinerary!

As soon as I’d published Androula’s Kitchen people would ask me if I was doing any book signing events. For authors with agents and publishers behind them this is all part of the marketing machine but  I couldn’t think how I was going to organise it on my own a complete unknown with no connections or any idea how you go about such a thing. It would involve advertising and a venue and payment of some kind surely?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I had decided to make the trip to Cyprus I thought this might present an opportunity to organise something; what I needed  was a place where I could sit and have a coffee and a chat while I wait for punters to ask for a book and a signature. Preferably it needed to be somewhere with a relevance to the book. I mention a fabulous vegetarian cafe called Inga’s Veggie Heaven that is in the Chrysaloniotissa area of Lefkosia, an area that has seen a lot of regeneration in recent years. Many of the interesting old houses are being lovingly restored and this is turning into an area that is truly a delight to wander through and which  has attracted a lot of artists. I’d happened on it almost by chance on my first visit to this district, it’s the corner building of a craft centre where several artists and craftsmen have workshops set around  a courtyard with a  small garden in the middle. The owner Inga Hadjipanayi is from Iceland married to a Cypriot. She makes her own bread every day and  her food is a truly delicious vegetarian mixture of combined cuisines.

When I returned a couple of years ago for a coffee she remembered me from my previous trip, which I have to say I was truly surprised by as I’d only been there once; we had a nice chat as she was having a lull after the lunchtime rush. My cousin Androula had taken some copies of Androula’s Kitchen there on a sale or return basis so it was a gradual thought process that led me to think this might be the perfect place to have an informal book signing event. Thankfully Inga likes the idea and with a bit of combined networking maybe we can do some good for both of us. I’ll certainly spread the word as much as I can.

In these difficult times where the structure of establishment seems to be crumbling around us it is good to keep planning ahead and focusing on making good things happen together. If you’re in Lefkosia on the 9th April  why not come and say hello and have a coffee and a bite at Inga’s 2 Dimonaktos St. Chrysaliniotissa Craft Center, 1017 Nicosia, Cyprus. The signing will take place between 2 – 4 pm

One thought on “Book Signing Event 9th April at Inga’s

  1. Hey congratulations to your book! And I’d definitely drop by Inga’s when I visit Cyprus in the future. I’ve been there once, and there is this cafe that I won’t forget; Scarabeo, it’s also in Nicosia so Inga’s probably not hard to find.

Leave a Reply

