Sssh shamali -It’s a Good Thing

 

Don’t forget you can order your copy of ‘Androula’s Kitchen- Cyprus on a Plate’ on this site at a very special price just click on the Home Page and follow the links. Why not buy it for a friend for Christmas? Read the reviews by clicking on the menu bar.

Well my video debut has arrived and I’m on You Tube!!!! I have been fiddling with the iMovie programme on my lap top and it has been both ffs fun and frustrating. I am constantly amazed at how sophisticated computers are these days and what you can do with them.

My first foray into movie making was making two videos about the cake shamali, I chose this subject because this recipe on the website is the most looked at post. The first shorter video is taken from some interviews my friends and I recorded in December. Rosemary Moon is a well known food writer who lives in my village and was the instigator and driving force behind our community garden, she offered, very kindly to help me make some videos by asking me questions to help the information flow forth as I was having a great deal of difficulty talking straight to camera on my own. It has taken me all this time to get to grips with the technology and find the time to fiddle. Here is the first one:-

On Sunday my friend Karen gamely agreed to help me shoot the second video of me making the cake, which I’m quite pleased with, the cake turned out OK as well so quite a successful day all in all.

Last week saw me make the bold decision to  visit  Cyprus in April for promotional purposes. About ten days or so ago I received an email from the principle of Larnaka Art College, Michael Paraskos. I had sent his father Stass Paraskos ,the founder of the college, a copy of the book as a token of good will as I had used a lot of images of the college in Lemba which, although started as the main art college is now just used for the summer school.

I’m pleased to say he liked the book and has asked me to give a talk on both the book and my work at their Friday lectures held every Friday afternoon in term time at the Larnaka college. I thought this would be a great opportunity to promote it and hopefully sell a few copies! Surprisingly I found that the lectures are linked to the local U3A group which is a great connection as I belong to my local group in Chichester and can see another promotional opportunity to write an article about meeting them and hopefully get it accepted in the U3A magazine. I’m such a publicity tart these days!!! There is also offer of a free table at a Craft Fair that is being held at the college on my first Sunday there. So a cornucopia of opportunity could await.

While I’m out there I’m hoping to link up with people I have made acquaintance with on the internet as well as visit the book shops who have stocked the book. I also want to gather even more information, food for more blogs and who knows another book in the future. Ambitious, I think at this stage as I have to concentrate on selling this one first. I can but dream.

Don’t forget you can order your copy of ‘Androula’s Kitchen- Cyprus on a Plate’ on this site at a very special price just click on the Home Page and follow the links. Why not buy it for a friend for Christmas? Read the reviews by clicking on the menu bar.

2 thoughts on “Sssh shamali -It’s a Good Thing

  1. Hello!
    Love your recipes and videos! I want to invite you to share your recipes on the website whenangelscook.com – it is anew but growing foodie community with great FB, Twitter and Pinterest exposure for you. You can add your blog too (coming soon) – check it out 🙂 and videos – all is free when you join now!
    Gabriele

Leave a Reply

