Music Music Music

A friend of mine posted on Facebook a video of Donna and Kebab today; a duo made up of Martha Dimitri Lewis and Eve Polycarpou two British Born Cypriots who joined in partnership in 1987 mixing singing and comedy. They have since evolved into Martha and Eve. Seeing the video reminded me of when I saw their act at a local festival. They certainly made me chuckle, sort of a mixture of “My Big Fat Greek Wedding “Humour and some lovely harmonic vocals.

Once I’d seen one video I wanted to see more of course and I found a great little piece of “rembetika”  or Greek soul music.

Rembetika  came into being in the early 20th century in Greece and was influenced  by the influx  of Greeks as a result of the diaspora from Asia Minor in 1922. Here is a very good site with more information  http://www.greecetravel.com/music/rembetika/ and links to more music that you can listen to.

Leave a Reply

