New Arts & Crafts Page

I’m setting up some permanent pages on the subjects I’m passionate about. Check out the Arts & Crafts page:-

When I set out on my voyage to discover  my authentic Cyprus for “Androula’s Kitchen” I wanted to find out more than anything about art in Cyprus. I hadn’t been aware of much art culture apart from and the folk art and the amazingly decorated churches that display a fabulous array of icons and murals . These are well documented  and some, painted when Cyprus was part of the  Byzantine Empire, have Unesco  world heritage status. But what about non-ecclesiastic painting and art?  My trip to visit George Georghiadhes the master potter in Lemba led to my discovery of the Lemba school of Art founded by Stass Paraskos in 1969.

Stass Paraskos (family photograph)

Stass Paraskos (family photograph) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Leave a Reply

