The Roller Coaster Ride of Life

English: The Kraken roller coaster ride at Sea...

English: The Kraken roller coaster ride at Seaworld in . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well it’s been a funny old couple of weeks that’s for sure, which is why I have been a bit tardy in writing my blog. But better late than never eh?

 

A few weeks ago I had a phone call from my cousin which set me thinking about the possibility of publishing my book with the help of some sponsorship. At first I dismissed the idea as I thought the cost would be prohibitive. Last year I did get a quote and it was way out in the stratosphere of possibility so I dismissed it. But the phone call set me thinking maybe it would be worth getting some more quotes. Where to begin..of course I Googled away until I came across a couple of likely printers not too far away, at least they are down near the south coast. The reply I got to my request for a quote was quite a surprise and made the possibility of getting into print seem within reach. I even got a thumbs up in request from a sponsor and I was off down the path like a hare on the starter gun.

Thinking Styles

Thinking Styles (Photo credit: Adam Crowe)

My head was full of sums and prices and marketing. I’d worked out a plan (always a good idea), I was virtually good to go, just a few tweaks and some paperwork and I could be in print. I was in touching distance.  I was eagerly telling a friend when the rug was pulled from under me, the sponsor had had second thoughts and backed out.

When I got over the disappointment it made me all the more determined to see the project through and find a way to make it happen. It comes down to belief, always, faith in yourself and your project. When so much time and effort is invested it is difficult to let it just gather dust especially as it’s looking so good now. The internet is a wonderful tool and it shows you a world of possibility. Through the labyrinths of social media I discovered a site that set me thinking that anything is possible.

 

I had already a plan of action which I thought might work but this site gave me a better model to work with. I won’t give away too much at the moment but over the next week or so watch out for news. The light at the end of the tunnel might be blinding!

 

3 thoughts on “The Roller Coaster Ride of Life

Leave a Reply

