Artichokes

Batik on paper 'Cardoon' by Sonia Demetriou

Batik on paper ‘Cardoon’ by Sonia Demetriou

I have been doing some re-thinking about the image I would like to use for the cover of “Androula’s Kitchen” the book. I took some photos, a few years ago now, in my sisters garden, of some very lovely cardoons, these are the same family as artichokes and have a  fabulous, tufted, purple centre. Artichokes were the earliest cultivated vegetable on Cyprus. There was a new species of wild artichoke discovered in 1997 in the western part of Cyprus, Cynara makrisii.  So I felt it quite appropriate to use an artichoke on the cover. I have been meaning to do a batik painting for some time, from the photos I took  and finally last week managed to find the time and the inclination coinciding. Makes a change.

800px-Artichoke-field_cyprus_hg

Leave a Reply

