Lemba – Ancient and Modern

I wanted to re – visit George Georgiades at Lemba Pottery when I visited Cyprus again in September so that I could buy some of the small bowls that he makes, crafting them with such a pleasing curve to their shape.

I found him at his wheel and busy at his craft.  I was lucky that he had made two extra bowls for an order and these I purchased from him along with a mug coloured with a band of verdigris green and I left with the thought that next time I will send a commission ahead, before leaving the UK, in order to buy a set of these useful little bowls coloured in the hues of the sea and sky which are so often represented on George’s pottery. These I am sure would bring a zing into the dull days of winter at home whenever I looked at them and remind me of that deep blue sky and sea that I love so much to look at when I am in Polis or Paphos.

On my road out of  Lemba, heading towards the sea, I saw on the outskirts, a small sign pointing the way to a prehistoric Experimental Village  being curious I followed the dirt road and saw to my delight a re-creation of several round- houses painted in an exuberant geometric pattern in earth red on an archaeological site.

There is free access to view this cluster of houses with but a brief description of what they are and why they are here.  The village of Lemba has been, since 1976, a site of archaeological interest and ongoing research by the University of Edinburgh, being one of the most ancient in Cyprus. This reconstruction made in 1982, is a representation of a Chalcolithic (3800-2500BC) village and has been used to carry out a number of prehistoric activities including the making and firing of pottery as well as the use of building materials. I took great pleasure in looking at the results in the form of one of the larger houses and viewing the

spacious interior with its funky decoration and attractive construction techniques. I don’t know how authentic the painted design was but it certainly looked striking.

It was a very hot day and the hottest part of the day and I longed for a cool spot to pass away some time and rest. Outside the enclosure, a track with a row of shady pine trees offered a welcome spot to park the car and taking out my beach mat to place it under one of the trees I  sat resting my back against its trunk.The area was deserted of people and very peaceful. The air was cool here and the scent of the pine tree made it even more refreshing and as I gazed over the horizon I was content. I had seen in the space of a few hours two different parts of Lemba separated by thousands of years and yet I felt, there probably was not a lot of difference between George practising his pottery a few yards down the road and the potter who would have performed very similar skills so many millennia before him. 

3 thoughts on “Lemba – Ancient and Modern

  1. Kalispera!

    II am a Swedish archaeologist and author.
    During 30 years I was supervisor of the famous Cyprus Collections in
    Stockholm and I have written many articles and books about the history and archaeology of Cyprus and Crete. I also produced many exhibitions.
    My latest book is about the archaeology and history of Cyprus from 10 000 BC until today.

    I think you have a wonderful homepage and I’ll put it on my own istoselida. Your pictures from Lemba are fantastic, I’ll try to get there this year. I now wonder if it would be possible to use one of your photos of the Lemba house. I have written a new book on ancient Cypriot cults. I couldn’t find any info about the pictures so I hope you will see this.

    All the best

    Marie-Louise

    • Hi Marie-Louise,
      how nice of you to drop by and leave a comment. How interesting that you are writing about Cyprus up to today, I would love to know when you get it published.Yes I’d be happy for you to use one of my photos, I think I have a couple more I could post later if you needed them, would I get a credit?
      Best of luck with it all and thanks for the mention all publicity welcome.

      Best Wishes

      Sonia.

  2. Pingback: Nordic Connections to the Bearded Goddess of Cyprus « Androula's Kitchen – Cyprus on a plate

Leave a Reply

